Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Win 7 lag unusable

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2,103
    vCash
    0
    Points
    238,471
    Bank
    0
    Total Points
    238,471
    Donate

    Win 7 lag unusable

    OKay, this one as me stumped.

    Win7 64 bit

    Laptop is a Vaio with 4 gigs of ram

    It lags horribly. The HDD light in constantly on but I don't hear it thrashing.

    When I watch the Resource Meter, nothing is making the RAM or CPU spike, and the HDD is barely reading and writing. However, if I try and launch a program, the mouse moves but does not click and eventually the blue circle will come up and spin for a minute or more and I still don't have a spike in CPU, RAM or HDD. It does this in safe mode as well.

    I checked the bios to see if there is anything in there but there are no user settings.

    I suspect the HDD may be having issues, but what are your thoughts?

    Are there any good programs I can put on a USB key to test this system?

    I am almost ready to yank the drive and scan it on one of my machines.
    "But I got it because I'm an iSheep who needs to have all my stuff have an Apple logo on it."

  2. #2
    Senior Member CeeBee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    1,647
    vCash
    1792
    Points
    83,424
    Bank
    0
    Total Points
    83,424
    Donate
    I'd suspect the hdd/controller/memory.
    First to a reset on the BIOS, then run a SMART test. Also a mem test won't hurt. I'm partial to memtest86... it has pointed problems in the past where other tests didn't (and indeed changing the RAM fixed).
    Also start with bootlog enabled and take a look for clues.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2,103
    vCash
    0
    Points
    238,471
    Bank
    0
    Total Points
    238,471
    Donate
    Quote Originally Posted by CeeBee View Post
    I'd suspect the hdd/controller/memory.
    First to a reset on the BIOS, then run a SMART test. Also a mem test won't hurt. I'm partial to memtest86... it has pointed problems in the past where other tests didn't (and indeed changing the RAM fixed).
    Also start with bootlog enabled and take a look for clues.
    Nothing in bootlog.

    Nothing really to reset or do in the bios. Being it is a Sony Viao, it is pretty locked down. About the only options even available were to change the time, add a password and change the boot order. I have never seen such a limited bios. I guess Sony does not trust their customers.

    I will test the hard drive tonight along with ram. I am leaning towards this being a hardware issue since it is fucked in Safemode. The HDD and OS seem relatively clean. I don't think this laptop saw much use.

    One other question. It was using Windows Defender. I thought it might be scanning even though it was disabled, is it possible I am not completely turning it off going through MSConfig? I don't see any running processes but windows assigns generic names to some of its processes and so it may still be scanning, or at least that is my theory.
    "But I got it because I'm an iSheep who needs to have all my stuff have an Apple logo on it."

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2,103
    vCash
    0
    Points
    238,471
    Bank
    0
    Total Points
    238,471
    Donate
    By the way, I downloaded http://portableapps.com/ and used their AV. Something Clam. ( I am at work, laptop is at home so not sure of the name). It seems rather limited. Is there a better AV I can run from a thumb drive?
    "But I got it because I'm an iSheep who needs to have all my stuff have an Apple logo on it."

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2,103
    vCash
    0
    Points
    238,471
    Bank
    0
    Total Points
    238,471
    Donate
    It appears that the hard drive is puking according to crystaldiskinfo
    "But I got it because I'm an iSheep who needs to have all my stuff have an Apple logo on it."

  6. #6
    Senior Member Mobile PC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    494
    vCash
    501
    Points
    121,576
    Bank
    0
    Total Points
    121,576
    Donate
    Run the manufacturers hdd software to confirm.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2,103
    vCash
    0
    Points
    238,471
    Bank
    0
    Total Points
    238,471
    Donate
    Quote Originally Posted by Mobile PC View Post
    Run the manufacturers hdd software to confirm.
    I will try. I pulled 3 gigs of photos off to back up the drive last night. That took roughly 2 hours.

    I set it up to run scan disk, at hour 1 if found a ton of bad clusters and repaired them. At hour 2 it started checking the disk for free space. At hour 3 I went to bed. I am not sure how long it took but at about hour 5 I woke up to rock a piss and it was still running.
    "But I got it because I'm an iSheep who needs to have all my stuff have an Apple logo on it."

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    2,103
    vCash
    0
    Points
    238,471
    Bank
    0
    Total Points
    238,471
    Donate
    Quote Originally Posted by Mobile PC View Post
    Run the manufacturers hdd software to confirm.
    there was not one for the manufacturer of the drive so i ran Seagates and it failed it too.

    Pieced it back together, and it sort of runs. She cannot afford a new drive so I have advised her to not save anything important on it.
    "But I got it because I'm an iSheep who needs to have all my stuff have an Apple logo on it."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •